One last game of Civ 4: Updated

Unless you’ve been living under a rock, you should know by now that Civilization 5, the latest iteration in the Civ series, is launching tomorrow. The game comes with a slew of changes, such as the removal of stacks of doom, religion, and espionage. It’s been a long run—five years, to be exact, since Civ 4 came out, but it’s coming to an end tomorrow, and to celebrate the next title, I’ve been playing one last game of Civ 4.

As any avid Civ fan would, I’m playing the Community Civ V mod (abbreviated as CCV). The mod is a compilation of a crap-ton of changes and additions to the game that add more depth and complexity to the title (such as Future Era tech and units, further espionage influence and bonuses, more diplomacy options, city-states, and even revolts). I’m neck-deep in 600 turns of the game so far as the Portuguese and I’ve wiped out all but one Civ, the Greeks, who have been my close friends for the most part of the game (I am aware of the irony). Now, however, Alexander has got his panties in a bunch because I just nuked his friends off the face of the earth and he’s gearing up for war as we’re the only two left and apparently he’s not giving peace a chance.

The only victory condition I chose was Conquest, so I either need to have him capitulate and become my vassal or I need to send him back to the Bronze Age. As you can see from the map, I have two more cities than he does, but I have a significant advantage since he doesn’t have access to oil or aluminum (resources needed to create tanks and air units past WWII-era units). He’s been getting pretty pissed about the fact that I have surpluses of both and I’ve been turning back his trade requests for the resources (oh yeah, I’m really going to arm my worst enemy). We may have about the same amount of units, but I’ve got stealth fighters and bombers as well as tanks and artillery with strengths much higher than his. I also have twenty-five nukes and he’s yet to complete the SDI project, meaning they are all guaranteed hits if I go that route.

I instead ask you, the reader, on what I should do. Should I be subtle about it first, using the subterfuge of espionage to influence culture and flip a couple of their cities first before launching war? Should I march my armies upon his cities and win through conventional tactics? Or should I go full-on mass murderer and nuke the crap out of him and destroy his civilization in one turn? You vote and I’ll follow through on the results!

EDIT: Sept 21

Well folks, the results are in. Fifteen people think I should nuke the hell out of the Greeks, where as only one person thinks I should use subterfuge, one other for making lovey dovey and becoming their friends, and then two for the long drawn-out process of a conventional war. Mass murder it is then! And that’s exactly what you’ll get.

Alexander is holding his cheek because I just pimp-slapped him.

WAR! But oh no, Alex, this doesn’t mean that I’m going to give you a fighting chance by meeting you on the field! No old friend, your budding civilization of 32,000,000 citizens with 1,600,000 soldiers is going to suffer a pain unlike any other…the nuclear bomb!

KABOOM, BABY!

Poor Alex. 25 nukes can be pretty brutal.

The aftermath.

That’s the power of the nuke, my friends. I destroyed all of his military units, all of his buildings in all of his cities, and every city’s population was reduced below three. The population of 32,000,000 went to 32,000 in one turn. That’s nearly half as many people that died in World War II, and I just did that in one turn. What followed was a couple of turns of me rolling in my armies to undefended cities and simply destroying them (capturing them would mean a chance for him to rise up through revolt later on). Of course razing cities in CCV is not as easy as it sounds, as partisans rise up from the destruction and retreat to the capital, giving him some free military units (in a sense). It does him no good for the size of my invading armies, however. Eventually, one by one, his cities fall before it comes down to his final holdout in Cuzco.

Of course, when you've only got workers defending your city, it's obviously not going to end well.

It took twelve turns to destroy the Greek civilization. The price we paid was steep to commit genocide, and it’s already being felt in my civilization as world-wide revolts take place and my approval rating drops to 32%. I may be looking at a civil war on my hands, but the alternative would have been steep, and the war would’ve lasted much longer. Our citizens may have been killed, our infrastructure may have been destroyed, and our improvements may have been pillaged, but thanks to the tactical genius of John II of Portugal ensured that no Portuguese citizen was harmed, no soldier was killed, and instead a Great General was born out of the conflict. We are victorious and it is glorious.

But still, I feel my work is not complete. I must reclaim the unoccupied territory, I must quell these rebellions, and I must control the entire world. I just need…one…more…turn…

Trackback: Slightly Relevant

About Agamemnon
Started blogging back in 2007 amidst that whole Hellgate: London fiasco on a blog known as flagshipped.com. Eventually moved on to do my own thing in December 2008 at gameriot.com and started Caveat Emptor there. Wrote there for six months, gained some notoriety, and then left. Now I'm back.

2 Responses to One last game of Civ 4: Updated

  1. Lonethar says:

    Amass the modern tanks. LOTS of tanks. Then shower your wrath upon them.

